Egg Noodle Casserole|Recipes

Oh, hello!

So this was the first time I had made this recipe, and it is now “in the rotation” as we like to say.  I had just gotten home from Kevin’s (my hot hubby’s) baseball game (watching him coach is the best reason to go), and just wanted something good, quick, and easy.  Casserole.  Plus I needed to go to the grocery store, so I just used what I had on hand.  (Stay tuned for a post on what to keep on hand in the kitchen).  Okay, here is the major disclaimer to remember as you read on…my pictures stink.  Yep I will admit it.  When you have a friend who is a photographer, you don’t need to be good! (Check her out here  to see what I mean).  I pledge to you that you will see improvements in this area.  Until then, sorry.

Okay, back to dinner.  We are making an egg noodle, chicken casserole.  Here are my ingredients.

Egg Noodles, flour, butter, chicken. garlic, chicken broth, onion, half and half, and a variety of cheeses.  Notice there is some already shredded, a block of some white cheese, I’m thinking it’s monterrey jack , and a bag of cheese.  (We rarely use bag cheese, so I am unsure how this was in my fridge).  Seriously, shred your own, it makes a difference.

First cut up your chicken ( I love the thin kind, it is so clean) and brown it in a skillet with Olive Oil.  Oh, and season it however you like, we season everything with Paula Deen’s House Seasoning.

While that’s cooling, chop your onion.

Do you have a small chopper? No, go get one!  This one was not expensive and chops perfectly.  See!

Go ahead and add some garlic here.  We use the jar kind.  There is nothing better.  I added a lot.  About 2 or 3 teaspoons.

Now go ahead and get your noodles going.

Once your chicken is cooked, remove it to a plate and melt some butter in the skillet.  (I used about half a stick).  Add the onions and garlic.  Who else loves the smell of onions cooking?

This is the most difficult part. you ready?  Now add the flour to the onion butter mix and stir it all up…let it cook for a sec.

It will be thick.  Next add the broth and milk.  Whisk it good.  It needs to be smooth.  Continue stirring until it thickens. Kinda like this.

While all of this is going on, try not to step on your dog who refuses to leave the kitchen.

Now assemble.  Drain your noodles, (hope you don’t need a picture for that) and return to the pot.  Dump in the sauce and chicken.  Stir all up.

Put in a casserole dish, add your cheese (or your variety of cheeses), and put in a 350 degree oven.

Cook for about 30 minutes. And…

Enjoy!

This was also good the next day, but what casserole isn’t?   What are your “go to” recipes that you will cook when you’re short on time but want something good?  I want to know, cause I always want ideas, and will cook some to feature on future posts!

Egg Noodle Chicken Casserole

1 pkg egg noodles
1/2 stick butter
1 onion, chopped
1/3 cup flour
2 cups chicken broth
1 cup milk (I used half and half)
salt and pepper, to taste
cheese, (kind and amount is up top you)
2 cups cooked chicken, cut in cubes
*next time I may add some rosemary
*you could add other veggies if you want.
Cook noodles as directed on package. Melt butter and cook onions and garlic in a large skillet until lightly browned. Stir in flour and blend in with a fork or slotted spoon. Stir in milk and broth and seasonings if you are using; whisk sauce constantly until thickened.Combine sauce, noodles and chicken. Adjust seasonings to taste. Place in a 2 quart casserole dish. Sprinkle top with  cheese and bake at 350°F for 30 minutes.
8 thoughts on “Egg Noodle Casserole|Recipes

  1. Yay!!! So excited for you! I love your ideas/originality and you are a perfect person to have a blog! I’m going to try this recipe!! Our go to is always grilled chicken with different marinades. Easy but can be different each time!

  2. This does look really yummy!!! I would love for you to share how you prepared and presented the pork tenderloin from New Year’s Eve. It was REALLY yummy too!!! I would like to make it soon! 🙂

  3. I made this tonight. It was easy and sooo good and filling. This is going on my list of things to cook often. I shredded Colby and Jack cheese and it was really good. Also the Paula Deen seasoning was a good call. Thanks to you, I have that on hand all the time.

  4. This looks AMAZING! My fiance likes alything with cheese so I’m going to try this one out this weekend 🙂

  5. Pingback: 7×7 Link Awards | Random | Everyday In Stilettos

Leave a Reply

