Table and dresser re-do|DIY

I really enjoy some DIY projects. It’s economical, and it really is nice to see the end result.  Now, not all of my attempts are successful, and I will share those as well.  I do shop and buy items, but if you can make it why not?  Also, I Google a lot, so I won’t take credit when credit isn’t due .

So this DIY project is a success story.  We have had these brown side tables in the guest bedroom that I was not thrilled about. They belonged to Kevin’s grandparents so how can you not love them?  See picture.  (Which was taken on my Blackberry)

Not terrible, and we have lived with them forever, but I was ready for a change.  I also didn’t like the magazine holder in the front…did your grandparents have tables like this? My plan was a paint job.  Kevin was nervous I know it…so one weekend as he was coaching, (sneaky sneaky),  I went to our storage room and saw we had creamy white paint (no, not the official color), paint brushes, sandpaper, plastic, and…

ahhh…success.  I also antiqued it up a bit by using 100 grit sandpaper.  Can you see it in the terrible picture?  Take my word for it.

Now, here’s what you do.

  • Drag out that furniture and dust it…opps, probably giving away a bit too much about my cleaning habits.
  • Gather your materials, paint (I used a matte finish, but that is just preference), paintbrush (I Iike the bristle brush as opposed to the sponge for furniture), sandpaper (100 grit), drop cloth or plastic, iPod dock with Adele for inspiration.
  • Rough up the furniture a bit, especially if it has that glossy finish.
  • Start painting.  Patience here please.  Paint a first coat, AND LET IT DRY!  Paint a second coat, and you guessed it, LET IT DRY!  This didn’t take long though since I was back and forth between 2 pieces of furniture. Paint a third coat or touch up as needed.
  • Grab your sandpaper and start roughing up the edges, corners, really anywhere you want.
  • Don’t put anything on your furniture until you know it’s dry.  I waited 2 days.

I don’t even mind the magazine holder anymore.  I was so happy with the results that I painted the dresser too.

And here is a close up of what a girl can do with a little sandpaper…

Here is a look at the bedroom.  Now imagine it with the brown furniture.  I’m happy with it!

Oh, and Kevin was happy with the results too, but not happy about me running around the house, paintbrush in hand trying to paint everything.

Grand total of the furniture re-do… $0.00.

Have you ever painted furniture?  I would love to know what you did and how it turned out. 

3 thoughts on “Table and dresser re-do|DIY

  1. Looks great!! Can’t wait to get my tray done. Oh and if you have an 11 x 14 or 16 x 20 frame laying around you don’t use. I need it. Just sayin’

  2. Pingback: 10 DIY Projects Anyone Can Do. | Everyday In Stilettos

Leave a Reply

