Roasted chicken | Recipes

My mom got us this “chicken cooker” a few years ago.  I really don’t think “chicken cooker” is the correct term, but that’s how we know it.

You can buy these anywhere, I saw a bunch on Amazon.  See, it has that well in the middle, so it is the same concept as beer butt chicken.  This is so simple, and you can use whatever you have on hand.  Plus a whole chicken is budget friendly and you have white and dark meat for those who have a preference.  So this is all I used…

not pictured but in every recipe…Paula Deen’s house seasoning.  Just put your broth in the well, along with some rosemary.  You can use whatever seasoning you like.  I LOVE rosemary and chicken.

Now get the chicken ready.  Remove the stuff from the middle.  Wash and pat dry with paper towels.  I cut little pieces of butter and stuff it under the skin.  Then rub the house seasoning all over the little guy.

See those lumps?  That’s the butter.  Now sit your chicken on top of the well, and stuff the neck with foil.

I added a bit more rosemary.  Put it in the oven at 350 degrees and cook for an hour and a half.

We will sometimes make gravy with some of the drippings if we are having rice.  (Plus my husband has perfected making gravy.  I know, I’m a lucky girl).  This is the best chicken, it is so tender, and we always have leftovers for chicken salad or whatever!

Does anybody have one of these?  I should mention that I am not a huge fan of chicken on the bone, but this is different!  So delish!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Roasted chicken | Recipes

  1. This makes me want to find mine and cook some chicken fried! 🙂 Can’t wait to try it. Thanks for the recipe. I do not like chicken on a bone either but am willing to give this a try. My husband will love it!!

Leave a Reply

