Shortbread and Nutella Cookies | Recipes

I love to bake, but don’t do it that often.  If I did, I would have trouble fitting into my clothes.  I had a bit of a sweet tooth today and thought I would make these easy and delicious cookies.  Plus Kevin was coming home, so I thought he would enjoy these!  I have made these cookies many times, and I can’t remember where the recipe is from.  It is one of those I just remember how to make.  I always have the ingredients on hand, so it is a go to cookie.  It is also kid approved by my nieces and nephews.

Now a note on the main attraction, Nutella.  If you know me you know I love Nutella.  No, you don’t understand, I LOVE it.  We always have it in on hand, and I will admit that I will grab a spoonful for dessert with a glass of milk.  So what if it is a large spoonful?

This is all you need…

You also will need the star of the show which deserves a solo picture…

First cream the softened butter and sugar together.

Now, add the flour, salt, and vanilla.  The dough will be very dry and crumbly.  I just get in there with my hands and mix it together.  Shape it into a ball.

And wrap it in plastic wrap.  Shape it or roll it into a log shape.  I kinda shape and roll until I get the log.  Just work with it.

Put it into the fridge for at least 30 minutes.  When you are ready to bake, slice the dough into thin pieces.

Place on a cookie sheet and bake in a 350 degree oven for about 12 minutes.  The edges will start to turn golden.

Let cool and spread Nutella between two cookies.  I am pretty heavy-handed with the Nutella.

These cookies are delicious plain as well.  Kevin has also put peanut butter between them.  My sister and I think this shortbread would be great as a pie crust, especially for a cheesecake.  Give these a try and let me know what you think!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter softened
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • Nutella

Cream butter and sugar.  Add the flour, salt, and vanilla.  Use your hands to continue to mix it and shape it into a ball.  Wrap in plastic wrap and shape into a log.  Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.  Slice the dough pretty thin, 1/4 inch.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 12 minutes.  The edges will become golden.  Cool, and spread Nutella between 2 cookies.

 

8 thoughts on “Shortbread and Nutella Cookies | Recipes

  1. They look really yummy. Great idea too. I’ve started baking far more often really, but I don’t eat too much of what I bake because I have others around me who also like the stuff I make. Yum. Going to make a lemon tart soon.

  2. These look yummy…I need to try some…It has been along time since I have baked cookies. I have been baking pound cakes, instead.

  3. Pingback: Food for Thought | Inkings and Inklings

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Nutella & Sea Salt Fudge | Recipes | Everyday In Stilettos

Leave a Reply

