Ruth’s Chris Barbecued Shrimp | Recipes

I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned this before, but I LOVE Ruth’s Chris.  Love the food, and love the memories Kevin and I have made there.  We will go, and have a 2 hour dinner, relaxing, talking, and just enjoying each other.  Ruth’s Chris introduced us to our favorite cocktail, Hendricks Gin and grapefruit.  We love the one in Savannah and visit each time we are there.

So anyway, one thing we always order is the Barbecued Shrimp appetizer.  The wait staff will, from time to time, give you recipe cards of something you ordered.  We have made this recipe a few times, it’s really easy, and we have also done this with chicken.

Friday night Kevin and I finally got to relax a bit, cook dinner, listen to music and enjoy some wine.  Okay, Kevin cooked, and I sat and chatted with him…

First the ingredients…

Well, okay not ingredients, but how we begin every meal.  My favorite wine btw.


Here we have shrimp, green onions, garlic, cayenne pepper, salted butter, canola oil, white wine, Tabasco, paprika, and Worcestershire.

Detailed directions are below, but you will cook the shrimp first and remove.  Next, add the ingredients and cook, add the butter slowly, and add the shrimp.  It is seriously easy.

He’s so amazing.

She’s pretty amazing too.  She likes to lay like this with her legs on the couch. It’s kinda weird.

We served this over rice.  At Ruth’s Chris they serve it with bread.  Either way you get to soak up all that delicious sauce.

I loved it.  Ate it all.

Ingredients

Shrimp (We always stock up on the frozen shrimp from the store) we use about half a bag.

2 Tbls Green Onion

1 tsp Chopped Garlic

1/2 tsp Cayenne pepper

8 oz Salted Butter

1 oz Canola Oil

2 oz White Wine

1 tsp Tabasco

1/2 tsp paprika

4 Tbls Worcestershire

Place a large skillet on a burner and heat over high heat.  Add oil and cook peeled shrimp until they are done.  Remove shrimp and set aside.  Add green onions and cook for 1 minute.  Add white wine and reduce the volume by half.  Once reduced add the garlic, Worcestershire, Tabasco, cayenne pepper and paprika.  Shake the pan well.  Cook for 1 minute then reduce heat to low.  Cut butter into small chucks and slowly add to pan.  Add shrimp back to pan and toss well to coat and heat the shrimp.

Enjoy and as always let me know if you try it!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Ruth’s Chris Barbecued Shrimp | Recipes

  1. Hey Kara, this might be a dumb question, but do these taste really “barbecue-y”? Just looking at the ingredients makes me think it would have a good flavor but wouldn’t necessarily taste like you poured barbecue sauce on shrimp. I think this recipe looks great, but my husband isn’t the biggest barbecue fan, so I’m trying to figure out if it would be worth trying. If it doesn’t have a typical barbecue taste, maybe I’ll give it a different name and he’ll never know! 🙂

  2. I have never had this. Let me rephrase, you have never made this for me. It sounds yummy! You know I am trying to eat more shrimp and trying to learn to like it. This may be a great thing to try!

Leave a Reply

