Driftwood Monogram | DIY

While in Tybee Island over Thanksgiving I collected a bunch of driftwood.  I wanted to make a monogram H (H is for our last name).  This was a simple and free project, and I have since confirmed my love/hate relationship with a hot glue gun!

First, I layed the driftwood outside for a bit to make sure it was good and dry.

Once dry I brought it inside and sorted it into sizes.

You can skip this step, I just thought it would be easier as I was looking for a particular shape/size.

Next, I cut out an H from some cardboard.

I wanted to make it as sturdy as possible so I glued pencils on the back.

I used my table as my work surface, and used my usual, garbage bags, to protect the table.  My glue gun was hot and ready to go, but I didn’t want to just start gluing, so I placed the driftwood on the H first.

I started with the bigger pieces, and the more unusual pieces I knew I wanted to use.

Once I was happy with placement I started gluing.  I just picked up a piece from its location, glued, and placed it back down.  This is where I burnt my fingers, but the hot glue works beautifully.

After gluing, I needed to go back and fill in all of the open spots where I could see cardboard.

And here is the finished product.

I was happy with how it turned out, and happy that I had a lot of driftwood left for another project.  (I am starting to become a craft hoarder, so this is added to the stash).

For now I propped it up behind the sweater candles.  You can see how I made those here.

I couldn’t help to think about how great this would look in a beach house, on Tybee Island.  Maybe one day…

If you can’t get to the beach to collect driftwood, you could easily monogram with sticks, moss, or wine corks.  I’m lucky that my monogram has straight lines, curved letters would be a bit more tedious.  I may give it a try on the letter C for my sister.

What I love most is that the driftwood is collected from the place we love the most.  This is the one rule I follow when decorating, use items that have meaning to you and your family.  You will love it so much more than just picking out a random piece.

So what would you use to monogram?  I would love to hear your ideas!

Btw, who has tried the Fudge Ritz Crackers that are in stores for the holidays?  I am ashamed to say we are averaging at least one box a week.  Sometimes two.

 

 

15 thoughts on “Driftwood Monogram | DIY

  1. When we get a beach house in Tybee, we will make a C and an H and hang them in our wonderful home by the ocean. I must pause while I dream of that for a minute. Ok, to the point, this is a very pretty project! I think it looks fab!!!

  2. Very chic! I like! I have done the shells and moss with my friend, but hadn’t thought of this. And ours actually cost something because I didn’t think of cardboard.. I bought the wood! 😦 Great design on a dime!

  3. Pingback: 10 DIY Projects Anyone Can Do. | Everyday In Stilettos

  4. Pingback: 7×7 Link Awards | Random | Everyday In Stilettos

  5. Pingback: Monogram Driftwood Initial

  6. I saw your post on Daily Do It Yourself! I love these letters so sweet. We live on the South Shore in Scituate, MA and I’m always looking for new things to do with the treasures we find on the beach.

  7. Beautiful Kara! Might make one for my bride-to-be niece, her new last name will be Warner and they live in Tampa.Thanks, girl…you are so crafty! Whitney

  8. Pingback: 11 Random Things | Everyday In Stilettos

  9. Pingback: Driftwood Wreath | Everyday In Stilettos

  10. Pingback: Decora y crea con trozos de madera

Leave a Reply

