Kitchen Cabinet Makeover

Remember when my sister painted her kitchen cabinets?  Remember, she guest posted all about it.  Well, Kevin and I loved the look so much we decided to paint ours.  Our kitchen isn’t big by any stretch, but it’s the main focus of our house and we wanted to give it a bit of a facelift.  If you’re wanting to update a look, there is nothing easier or more affordable than a little paint.  It can be a bit time-consuming,, sometimes scary,  but so worth it.

We’ve been talking about painting for a while now but couldn’t decide on a color.  We finally decided on a gray, (my sis also painted hers gray so we knew it looked good).  Once at Lowe’s we grabbed a few paint swatches and finally decided on a color.  Turns out it was the exact same color my sister used….crazy huh?

Okay, so here are a few before pics…remember the kitchen is small so it is hard to get a span of the cabinets.

Before we began we had to clear the kitchen of everything…

Next we primed the cabinets.

And then painted.  We painted about 2 coats, and we didn’t remove the doors.  We may go back at some point and take the doors off and clean it up a bit, but it actually looks really good as is.

Okay, so next we added some hardware, which we love now that we have it.  This was another easy fix to add to our kitchen.

I’m loving how our white appliances look with the gray.  I was never a huge fan of the white until now.

That little man you see behind the flowers is our knife set.  You can buy yourself one here.

That’s the sign I made. I made it just like I made this canvas.

Well, that’s pretty much it.  We love it and it makes a huge difference in our kitchen.  We have a few more things on our list that we want to do so stay tuned.  Oh, and since this was successful, watch out bathrooms, you’re next!

Would you ever paint your cabinets?  What color?

5 thoughts on “Kitchen Cabinet Makeover

  1. Kara, The cabinets look great – I don’t think Scott would ever let me paint the cabinets, I think gray would be my choice If I did, I have black appliances and that would like good with them. You all did a great job!

Leave a Reply

