I Made a Shirt

Remember when I told you I met the fab April Johnston and I was inspired? Well, since then I’ve sat myself down in front of my sewing machine and sewed.  Sometimes I sit and look through my fabric with nothing in mind, but the point is I want to sew…something, anything.

I bought this great fabric from Jo Ann’s with a project in mind.

This is actually April’s fabric from her line at Jo Ann’s.  There are so many great ones to choose from…yay!

So I knew I wanted to make a flowy, sleeveless, open shirt. And let me state for the record that I’ve never made any type of garment.  I did make a bag, and sew this tree though.

I don’t have many pictures of my process, to be quite honest I wasn’t sure how it would turn out.  But I’m gonna tell you how I did it.  First I grabbed a shirt from my closet that I wanted to use as my guide.  I used this shirt to make a pattern.  ( I made a pattern from some tissue paper).  From there, I cut my fabric and started sewing.  I used my own body as a body form, (I really want to purchase a body form now), and kept trying on the shirt, pinning, cut, sewed, etc until I had the finished product.

(Sorry for all of the self portraits in the mirror, no one is ever home to snap a pic).

I actually wore the shirt today as a buttonless button down.  (Does that even make sense?)

Okay, so it’s so not perfect, and has a million flaws.  However, it made it through the day in one piece!

Who knows what I’m gonna attempt next, but all I want to do is sit at my machine and sew.  Plus, how great is it that I made something I can wear?

Oh, and I had a 40% off coupon, plus a 15% off teacher discount that I get with every purchase, so if I remember correctly,  I got 2 yards of fabric (that’s my go to amount so I have plenty) for around $9.00.  And I made a shirt!

Who wants a flowy, sleeveless, open, buttonless, button down, shirt? I can make you one…

 

 

6 thoughts on “I Made a Shirt

  1. Pingback: I Made Another Shirt | Everyday In Stilettos

Leave a Reply

