Cooking For One

I really hate when Kevin is out-of-town, but we both deal with it.  I talked about it over on Nikki’s blog a while back.  Well, he’s out-of-town this week, and although I’ve missed him terribly I’ve enjoyed not cooking too much.  Now, Kevin has never once expected me to cook dinner, actually he’s the one who cooks most of our meals.  However, when he’s gonna be home late and I’ve been home all day it’s the least I can do.  While he’s been away I’ve pretty much snacked all day and have not been too hungry for dinner.  I do have the opportunity to cook some of the meals I like, that may not be Kevin’s favorite, or I can cook meals that don’t have meat involved.  You all know I am a meat-eating southern girl, but to be honest, sometimes I just don’t feel like dealing with the protein of the meal.

So tonight was one of those nights.  I just looked through my pantry and created this pasta dish.  It was very delish.

These are all the ingredients you will need.

And a small onion.  I decided to add this after I took the picture.

Heat about 1/4 cup olive oil in a skillet. Add about 1 teaspoon of garlic (or more depending on your love for garlic) and a few shakes of red pepper flakes (or more depending on your love for red pepper flakes).  Cook for a few minutes but don’t let it burn.

Meanwhile cook the pasta.

I saw on Pinterest if you put a wooden spoon over the pot it won’t boil over…it works, we do it every time.

Also, meanwhile, caramelize some onions.

Now you can add your drained tomatoes to the olive oil.

You can see how you’re gonna have a nice little sauce.

Once the onions are done add them to the tomatoes.  Then drain the pasta and throw that in too.

Mix together and that’s it!

Of course I add a little Parmesan.

What I loved about this was you instantly taste the heat from the red pepper, but then some sweetness from the caramelized onions.

You can easily adjust this to your liking.  You can add chicken or shrimp, and any other veggies you had on hand. I also think a few sun-dried tomatoes would be good. Oooh and maybe some feta sprinkled on top…

I also have  a feeling that this may be one of those pasta dishes that is good cold right out of the fridge.  I can let you know as I’m sure I’ll be enjoying my leftovers tomorrow.

One thought on “Cooking For One

Leave a Reply

