Clinique vs Garnier | Style

I am going to start a new series of blog posts where I compare two products, a drugstore brand vs the more expensive, department store brand.  I want to know if you get a better product if you spend more, or if it is even worth it at all.  The first two I am going to compare are these guys.

First up Clinique Moisture Surge face gel.  I have been loyal to this product for quite some time.  It is a gel, so it feels great on your face, and doesn’t make your face feel heavy with a lotion like feel.  This will cost you $34.00.

Next up is a drugstore brand…

Garnier Moisture Rescue.  Also a gel.  You can get this for $5.99.

So here is how the story went down.  I was completely out of my Clinique, and wasn’t going to get a change to get by a Clinique counter.  So off to Target I went to pick up a moisturizer.  I happened to see the Garnier, and that it was a gel, so I went with it.  Here are the comparisons.

  • Price: winner, Garnier
  • Scent: winner, Garnier
  • Condition of skin/locks in moisture: winner, tie
  • Way it feels on face after application: winner, Clinique (but not by much)

So the overall winner in this comparison would be the Garnier Moisture rescue.  I love it and am so glad I have found it.  Saves me some money and it really is very close to the Clinique.  If you haven’t tried a gel you should.  You can also dab a bit over your makeup to freshen up a bit.

I will be doing these comparisons as I get through the products.  For some, it takes a while, such as the one I am comparing for you now.  Next comparison will be Loreal Youth Code, vs Lancome Genifique.  Is anyone currently using either one of these products?

5 thoughts on “Clinique vs Garnier | Style

  1. This is a great idea, I hope you keep doing these comparisons because, let’s be honest, Target is about the ONLY place I shop at anymore! And Babies R Us . . . 🙂 Which brings me to – CONGRATULATIONS! I tried to comment from my phone the day you posted that DIY but it didn’t work. So happy for you guys! Hope you are feeling ok. It will be so fun to put together a nursery in that beautiful new house!! AND . . . I am loving all the products you sent me. The nail polish is a fave, LOVE the color. And the matte cream is kind of miraculous. One of these days I’m planning to do a bunch of posts on all my favorite baby gear. So stay tuned. 🙂 Congrats again!

  2. Pingback: .October Favorites | Things I love. » vanessaschrotenboer.com

  3. Pingback: .October Favorites | Things I love. » vanessaschrotenboer.com

  4. Thank you for doing this! I am about to be out of of my free moisture surge sample and I cannot fork over $34.00 for it. The gel on my face is so good especially since I have very oily skin.

Leave a comment